top of page
  • bethanyhutchison4

Exploring Branding

Updated: 4 hours ago


Image Credits: Pretty Little Thing, Bethany Hutchison, Hattie Stewart

Thumbnail Design: Bethany Hutchison


As project four, typography and design, for my BA1b unit comes around the corner I believe that now is the perfect opportunity to discuss a key element of the fashion industry. Branding. Whether this be the branding of a company and/or publication or the branding of an individual (for example, a freelancer). It is imperative that the corporation/ individual’s unique branding shines through. Branding is imperative, providing a window into an individual’s skills, creativity and personality. As I become more aware of the fashion industry and how I can break into it post-graduation It is important that I educate myself on and explore this specific topic.

 

As a Fashion Communication and Promotion student it may be argued that I already obtain an edge in this particular part of the Industry as, through projects such as my BA1b marketing report I have become educated on the importance of brand identity. Throughout my marketing report I ensured that my document reflected the aesthetics of my chosen brand, Levi’s. This was achieved by using the same typeface used on the brands website alongside the exact HEX code of the iconic red showcased on the brands red tab. My aim when creating the marketing report was to produce a body of work which could easily have been made by the brand itself. This is a tactic which I continued to use into my BA1b fashion publications project ensuring that both my pitch and media pack aligned with the branding of our publication. One way in which this was achieved was via a brand board. A brand board visually highlights the key graphic elements of a brand such as: colour palette, type, logos and imagery. Creating a brand board was incredibly beneficial as it allowed me to clearly see the aesthetics of a brand. This is a practise which I shall continue to use within the industry.


An example page from my Levi's marketing report. Image Credits: Bethany Hutchison

Alongside the aesthetics of a brand there are also many other roles which come han-in-hand with branding such as:

-              Packaging designers

-              Illustrators

-              Graphic designers

-              Art directors  

-               Product photographers

-              Copywriters

 

How do these roles apply to branding?

 

Packaging designers- Danni Ai (a growth venture consultant and lead designer at DACCO multimedia) states that packaging design is crucial in branding as it helps to capture attention whilst simultaneously communicating brand values and shaping purchasing decisions. Packing is often the first interaction a customer has with a product which makes it incredibly impactful in terms of shaping brand conception. Features such as vibrant colours, unique shapes and tactile elements can cause a brand to ‘stand out’ thus becoming memorable to a consumer. In addition, brands are also aligning their packaging to sustainable practises helping to enhance their reputation whilst drawing in eco-conscious consumers (Ai, 2023).

 

In addition to the points mentioned above, packaging design can also showcase brand inclusivity. An example of this can be seen in the packaging design of celebrity makeup line Rare Beauty. Rare Beauty is built off of the ‘Made Accessible’ Initiative due to its founder, Selena Gomez’s, struggles with the autoimmune disease lupus and her desire to find packaging which is easy to both open, close, hold and to apply. Rare beauty ensures that their products are easy to both grip and manoeuvre. This is achieved via products such as the ‘Soft pinch liquid blush’ which features a cap design with minimised resistance, an easily removable applicator and a matte finish alongside an appropriately sized bottle allowing a firm grip and comfortable hold. (Kim, 2023) (Unknown I, Unknown)


Image Credit: Rare Beauty

 

I myself have also experienced the process of packaging design in my BA1b marketing report for Levi’s. Whilst creating my asset mock-up for the brand (a coffee table publication in celebration of the 501 jean displayed in a pull-out drawer style box) It was imperative that I considered the brands past campaigns alongside the brands target demographic. In order to ensure that I was creating an item which was ‘on brand’ and would therefore seamlessly blend into the aesthetics of the company whilst being enjoyed by its consumers. This is something which I enjoyed producing and I look forward to seeing how my knowledge of packaging design continues to develop as I continue my studies. In order to create effective packaging design one must be creative, innovative, analytical and research driven. Skills which I believe I have clearly exemplified within my Levi’s asset mock-up.

 

Illustrators- Illustrations tend to be used on websites, mobile apps, publications and marketing campaigns. With over 70% of the world being visual learners it is imperative that brands use illustration in order to highlight a brand’s aesthetics (Roark, 2018). Illustration, yet again, requires creativity and problem solving skills which I believe I obtain.  

 

Image Credit: Bethany Hutchison

Graphic designers- Graphic design can help to visually communicate branding. The use of graphic design can help to establish an initial connection between a consumer and a product whilst helping to maintain a long-term brand image (an example of this can be seen in Nike’s iconic tick design). Maintaining a long brand image is imperative to brand identity as it provides an individual with both familiarity and reliability. According to an article by nettl.com the ‘key to great graphic design work is creating something that becomes instantly identifiable’. An example of this can be seen in the work of graphic designer/ illustrator Hattie Stewart- a self-proclaimed ‘professional doodler’. Stewart first began to gain recognition after sharing her personal projects (illustrative work on the covers of magazines). Recently I attended the ‘CUTE’ exhibition at Somerset house. An exhibition which I attended, unknowingly realising that Stewart had contributed to. However, upon seeing her work (a sculpture in collaboration with Hello Kitty) It was immediately evident that she was the artist behind the piece as the sculpture contained one of her signature doodles (a winking heart). This instant recognition suggests that Stewart has successfully used her illustration/ graphic design skills in order to coincide with her brand (Unknown II, Unknown) (Stewart, Unknown).


Image Credit: Hattie Stewart (2020)

As my time at university continues, I hope that I too can create strong personal branding for myself. This branding would help to effectively communicate my skillset alongside personal style in documents such as portfolios and would subsequently strengthen job applications.

 

Art directors- According to an article by nomondesign.com art direction plays a crucial role in branding enabling a consumer to visually conceptualise a brand/ product. This can be achieved by establishing an emotional bond between a brand and its consumers (Unknown III, 2020).

 

Product photographers- Product photography is another key element of branding. According to Spencer Cobby Photography product images work as brand ambassadors helping to represent a brand through a range of marketing channels, such as: social media, e-commerce and advertisements (billboards, posters etc). Product photography provides a client with information whilst simultaneously creating a sense of trust and desire. In many cases an image speaks a thousand words, and in this case it is no different! On average it takes 50 milliseconds for an individual to form a first impression therefore it is key that images convey the brand successfully. For those, such as myself, who are interested in packaging product photography may be both a great, and viable avenue to pursue. Product photography is in demand and the industry skills and experience obtained from the role are incredibly beneficial in establishing oneself within the industry. However, like any creative role, it is important for individuals to produce a sample of work in the form of a portfolio. This is something which I currently obtain but believe is not extensive enough. I hope that as I continue learning about the industry and producing work, I can continue to work on my portfolio so that it can become something I am truly proud of post-graduation (Cobby, Unknown).

 

Copywriters- Copywriting is a role within the branding industry which I was previously unaware of and is a role which is, incidentally, one of the most undervalued tools within the branding industry. Copywriting concerns a range of marketing channels such as social media and ecommerce and is most simply described as the way in which a brand is communicated via writing. Through copywriting a brand is able to strengthen their image, build meaningful relationships with an audience, improve brand visibility, differentiate competition and improve conversion rates and sales (Lischer, Unknown). This role appeals to me as I enjoy writing. Throughout BA1a and BA1b I have maintained a professional air to my blog posts and have accumulated a vast selection of written work. My article writing for my fashion publications project has also taught me how to adapt my tone depending on an audience- a skill which is invaluable in branding!  


But does binge watching anime with my cat really count as procrastinating? Copywriting example courtesy of Minga London

 Overall, It is clear that branding is an imperative part of conveying a brand identity and driving sales. From the roles listed above I’d be most interested in joining the graphic design or packaging team of a corporation. I believe that I have the skills for this role as I am creatively driven whilst also being proficient in Adobe software’s such as Illustrator, Photoshop and InDesign. If I were to pursue packaging design, I would need to learn about packaging nets (the packaging collapsed). This is something which can be self-taught by utilising the resources available within the university’s library or via guided teaching if I were to contact one of the graphic design lecturers or technicians. As with the majority of the roles written about in my BA1b blog posts there is, of course, a hierarchy within the industry. However, equipped with my current knowledge of branding and my soon to be newfound knowledge of typography and design (alongside a strong portfolio) I feel confident that I’d be able to break into the industry!

 

 

Bibliography

Ai, Danni (2023) ‘Packaging design and its role in branding’. Available at: https://www.linkedin.com/pulse/packaging-design-its-role-branding-danni-ai/ (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

 

Kim, Jinny (2023) ‘Celebrities with invisible disabilities face body shaming’. Available at: https://www.uscannenbergmedia.com/2023/04/18/celebrities-with-invisible-disabilities-face-body-shaming/#:~:text=Gomez%20has%20lupus%2C%20a%20chronic,has%20publicly%20opened%20up%20about. (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Lischer, Brian (Unknown) ‘The Power of Copywriting in Branding’. Available at: https://www.ignytebrands.com/the-power-of-copywriting-in-branding/#1 (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Roark, Rocky (2018) ‘How Illustrations can benefit your brand’. Available at: https://rockyroark.medium.com/how-illustrations-can-benefit-your-brand-c52f3ce81cfd (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Stewart (Unknown) ‘Hattie Stewart’. Available at: https://hattiestewart.com (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Unknown I (Unknown) ‘Rare Beauty Made Accessible Initiative’. Available at: https://www.rarebeauty.com/pages/made-accessible (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Unknown II (Unknown) ‘WHY GRAPHIC DESIGN IS IMPORTANT FOR YOUR BRAND INDENTITY’. Available at: https://www.nettl.com/uk/graphic-design-and-brand-identity/#:~:text=Good%20graphic%20design%20creates%20brand,them%20with%20familiarity%20and%20reliability. (Accessed: 22.04.24)

 

Unknown III (2020) ‘What is art direction in branding?’. Available at: https://nomondesign.com/en/blog/the_importance_of_art_direction_in_branding/# (Accessed: 22.04.24)

bottom of page